top of page

Put on Your Big Girl Pants...and Other Helpful Advice for Our Relationships

I was recently reading over at Mother of Knights about rejection.

It was a difficult post to read through, and names kept popping into my head.

Names of friends. Family members. Former co-workers.

I understand being left out, man. I get that feeling of wishing you knew what was going on, what was in style, why they all were laughing.

I have never been a part of the in-crowd. I think I am safe in saying I have been as far-out as one person can be. I am usually a few seasons behind in the fashion world. I catch the chart toppers after iTunes has had them on the Top 100 for months.

And if I'm being honest, I really don't care. There is so much going on in life, so much I want to invest my energy in more than skinny pants vs. printed leggings or who is singing what.

I tell myself that if I cared more, maybe I'd have more friends. Maybe there would be something to fill that awkward silence after the initial getting-to-know-you phase.

Maybe not.

Whatever it is that separates me from her (whoever that "her" may be), I hate it. When something interrupts my friendships, my family ties, or my working relationships, it keeps me up at night. I obsess over it. I analyze and replay and question.

It messes with my mind.

My very best friend in the world loves to repeat a phrase to me when I choose to wallow in what I cannot change: Put on your big girl pants.

In other words, pick yourself up. Change what you can. Quit immersing yourself in what is not worth your time.

Of course rejection still hurts. No one wants to be screwed over by someone they thought was their friend (I'm talking to you, former gal pal. What the heck?).

Sometimes it takes the words of someone I know loves me to negate the foolishness of someone else.

Put on your big girl pants.

Call me so we can talk.

How are you really doing?

I can send chocolate (theeeeee best).


bottom of page